What I’ve learned from the “next generation.”

“A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives.”- Jackie Robinson

Throughout my life, I’ve always tried to keep on my toes whether it be in television and radio, sports, or public relations.  Last year, I felt I was becoming obsolete.  So, I began reading more about social media and how it could benefit my work.  I stumbled upon Brazen Careerist and it really changed how I looked at social media and my career.  The folks that launched it are all in their 20’s and created a community for learning, collaborating and searching for work.

It was a watershed moment because it help re-light the fire inside me.  From that point forward, I reinvented who I was and how my career would play out .

Thanks to the “next generation,” I am a better PR practitioner and person because of the quality out there.  My question to you is: Are you listening to that college intern or freelancer? What about the many 20-somethings that offer up valuable knowledge on their blogs? Take a moment and get inspired!  Here are five things I have learned in the last year from the “next generation.”

1. Enthusiasm- If you don’t have a lot of this in what you do, why are you doing it?

2. You are in control of your career- It doesn’t matter whether you work for a PR firm or are self-employed, it’s up to you to make the most of what you do!

3. Take risks- Be scared, it’s good.  Matt Cheuvront’s must-read blog, Life Without Pants, addresses this perfectly.  “Don’t walk… RUN out of your comfort zone.” (Thanks as always, Matt!)

4. Engage- Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google Wave…. talk to the people.  A lot.  It’s called social media for a reason.

5.  Bright ideas- There are so many fresh thinkers, it’s hard not to be inspired.  Take a lesson from what you read and make a change.

What have you learned? Share your thoughts in the comments section.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on January 19, 2010, in Inspiration, Public Relations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great post, Jason! It’s really great that you look for inspiration from people of various backgrounds and experience levels. And I’d like to say that as a 20-something PR pro-to-be, it’s wonderful to meet people like you, who take the time to share your wisdom, even when you’ve already “made it.” You’re a great friend and mentor! Thanks!
    Lauren

    • Thanks Lauren! It is great to be able to chat about the things you are working on. There are times when people stop accumulating wisdom and that is sad. I am happy that I can look to new pros like yourself and gain knowledge AND camaraderie.
      Keep up the GREAT work!
      Jason

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more Jason. Believe it or not I’m (gulp) in my 30s who just so happened to graduate college a little “later in life”. Taking a queue from all the fabulous GenYers out there, I’ve been heavily inspired by their spirit of collaboration, open-minded passion to learn and share ideas. It’s a totally different way of thinking then peers and co-workers of my age. The next generation really facilitates a healthier, happier way of life. Thanks for a great post! =)

    • Andrea,
      Awesome of you to visit! We are both 30-somethings and I’d like to think we are unique in that we’ve had to “re-adapt” to the changing world. Scary thought for those that choose not to adapt and learn from others.
      Thanks again. I’ll drink a latte to our getting wiser in our “old” age! :)

      Best,
      Jason

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,262 other followers

