How are you marketing yourself?

“I am out here for you. You don’t know what it’s like to be ME out here for YOU. It is an up-at-dawn, pride-swallowing siege that I will never fully tell you about, ok?”- Jerry Maguire

Over the last few years, I’ve seen my life change from television and radio producer to public relations professional. It wasn’t the first time I changed careers, but it was the first time I had to totally market myself in a different way.  I needed to sell my new employer that I could handle public relations after a long career writing, producing, and reporting in the electronic media.

Whether you are a student or a seasoned pro, you need to realize that the way you market yourself is just as important as your experiences.    Sure, your label is as “PR person,” but you are more than that.  Here are four ways to market yourself to your next employer and show them you’ve got the “Kwan.”

  1. Have a plan of attack: You’ve given your future employer just about everything on you.  Now you should know just about everything on them.  Research their clients, history, who the bosses are, etc.
  2. Show your skill sets: Give the interviewer something to think about during and after the interview.  All I wanted to do was get in the room and I knew I could sell them on me. Find some common ground and break the ice; show that you can think on your feet.
  3. Think like the job: If you are interviewing for an account manager’s job, it will help if you actually know what he/she does.  Use your contacts or call another PR/marketing firm and ask what this type of job entails. Then, put yourself in a position of strength.
  4. Handle the Truth- Here’s something I learned from a collegue.  When it appears the interview is wrapping up, ask your interviewer/future boss if they have any concerns about your resume.  This shows you have nothing to hide and are willing to discuss a job that may have not ended well.

Now, more than ever, you need to show you can think on the fly.   If you are prepared, you’ll have a better opportunity at that first job or next opportunity.  Let me know how YOU are marketing yourself and your experiences in the interview room.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on January 26, 2010, in Inspiration, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Jason,
    This is excellent advice. I especially like the fifth tip – asking the interviewer if there are any concerns with a resume. I never thought about that but it is a great way to see what he/she is thinking and combat any worries. Thanks for the words of wisdom, as always!
    Lauren

  2. Great post. I think the tip on thinking like the job is one many people forget about. You should always have an idea and understanding of the type of position you’re applying for. I enjoyed your post!

    • Lauren and Ivette,

      Thanks so much for stopping by to read and comment. If it helps you get a job or at least make you better prepared for that next gig, then this post did it’s job.

      What are some of things you have heard as tips. I’d be intrigued to hear.

      Again thanks!! :)
      Jason

  3. Jason –

    I really enjoyed your post. I definitely think that “thinking like the job” is the one interviewees forget most often. One tip I’ve also heard (and recommend) is asking questions of your potential employer. Just as they are interviewing you, you are interviewing them, as well.

    Great post and happy Tuesday!

    • Kristen,

      I’m glad you stopped by! So happy that you have included asking questions of potential employers. Not only is it a good way to get a better feel of the company and the people who run it, I think it also helps keep you sharp and thinking critically.

      My best,
      Jason

  4. Great post Jason,
    I think on top of the plan of attack, show your skill sets, think like the job and handle the Truth — overall confidence in your abilities and who you are is critical.

  5. Bryan,

    I’m happy you stopped by! Absolutely and positively you need to have confidence. This is something that I have said before on this blog and in speaking to students. If you don’t have confidence in your abilities, you need to look in the mirror and see who and what you are.

    Thanks again..hope you will continue to read the blog!
    Best,
    Jason

  6. First of all – Jerry McGuire was one of my favorite movies. Secondly, I #4 is really good advice. It really shows your drive to getting the job and makes you more personable in the process. Good job man.

  7. Always great to have your perspective, Rod. And Jerry Maguire has always been one of my faves. When I heard that quote again recently, I knew it pertained to this blog topic.
    Keep up your fine work, buddy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,385 other followers

