Working with Doubt

“What’s the long face, what’s all the crying for… Didn’t you expect it when you opened your door.” – Bruce Hornsby

I’ve been a solo PR/social media marketing pro for nearly a year now. I chronicled my feelings as a new solo pro in May for Kellye Crane at SoloPRPro.com. It’s been such great ride to help clients shape their vision and put it into action. But I need to admit something and I think it can help you, too.

I doubt myself every single day.

courtesy: Wondering Fair

So, how can a solo- or any PR/SM/Marketing pro, for that matter -actually effectively work for a client to help them solve problems, create plans, and implement a campaign, if they doubt? This answer is simple. It’s the doubt that helps my creative and analytical mind.

If you, or I, thought everything was the best damn idea or plan out there, one of two things would happen: We’d be short of clients or unemployed.

I never want to be the person that just nods his head to every idea. That’s being a “yes man” and you can forget about that ever happening. I would rather jump in with, “I think we need to re-think this because I have a little doubt about it working.” Having some doubt about a specific plan or campaign is welcomed by clients and colleagues. They want your opinions. If you doubt that some figures aren’t right or that a social campaign doesn’t have enough engagement, this is great.

I’ve doubted my own plans and asked for advice from trusted colleagues. Remember, despite this social world of ninjas, Jedis, and gurus, we don’t know everything. Even in running my relatively new business, I’ve had doubts. Will it work? Will people work with me?

Self-doubt is something you can use to fuel your success and help you become the best you can be. Take a moment and focus on what has worked for you in the past. I’m sure you’ll see that you had some doubt surrounding it.

And that isn’t a bad thing.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on August 1, 2012, in Inspiration, Public Relations, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,106 other followers

