Haven’t Met You Yet

I might have to wait, I’ll never give up. I guess it’s half time and the other half’s luck.”– Michael Buble.

I love how music and life intercept.  There are so many instances in my life where I can take a song and match it to an event.  However, it was a new song by Michael Buble that really got me thinking. The song “Haven’t Met You Yet” is basically about a relationship.  But, if you look at the lyrics, you can compare it to a job you are in or trying to get.

I was working at a job where I thought I had it all; a good schedule and a seemingly relaxed atmosphere.  I was growing as a professional and saw myself there for a long time. Or so I thought. Over a two-year span, things began to deteriorate.  The boss was more old school and I was new school.  Technology, for this person, was a calculator;  for me, it was social media, podcasting and moving to an iMac.  I really wanted to stay and help transform the department.  However, that wasn’t going to happen and I was quickly losing my sanity.  Eventually, I left because a) I found a better job, and b) I needed to feel like I was moving forward and not backward.

Ok, so what is the lesson here?  Well, you could be in a great job, but you may not have “met” that job that will really define you.  When I worked in television, I thought working in sports would define my career.  It didn’t.  I now look at my time at Fox News Channel and Fox News Radio as my defining moment(s) in television/radio.  Have I met the job that will define me in PR? I think I have, but only time will tell.

You will go through ups and downs, but remember that no one can define what you’ll be.  You and only YOU will define your career.. but you may not have met that job just yet.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on December 21, 2009, in Inspiration, Public Relations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jason,
    First, you had me with the opening lyric. I love Michael Buble – his music is beautiful and always leaves me wanting more. Second, I am loving your blog. I’m a senior in college and have two industry-related part time jobs, but still I have no idea what my future holds. I graduate in May and can only hope that a full time job will be secured by then. Whatever happens, I will continue to work hard and look forward to the day my dreams become a reality. Thanks for sharing your journey with us! It’s inspiring to young pros like myself 🙂
    Lauren

  2. Lauren,
    Thanks again for reading! Buble is very talented and I enjoy relaxing (and working) to his music.

    The one thing I hope my blog does for you, other students, and maybe just a random person is give insight and a little inspiration. The adage “pay it forward” is very important. If we don’t spread the knowledge, then how are people like yourself going to learn and get experience?

    Please feel free to pass the blog along. I’d be happy to help other students.

    Best,
    Jason

  3. First, great song! Second, that analogy is spot on. Professionally and personally many of the key events in my life came down to those two factors.

    Also, it helps to put yourself in situations, through mentors, networking, etc., that increase your odds of attaining whatever your goal is. Fortune favors the bold (who take action).

    • A.J.,

      I could not agree with you more. You, ultimately, need to make your own success and in turn help to increase the odds. Your last sentence is spot on: “Fortune favors the bold.” We all need to be aggressive (to a point) and make sure we show what we’ve got.

      Thanks so much for stopping by the blog. I appreciate it greatly!

      Best,
      Jason

  4. I love this song so much… This is a very good song and very good jub. keep working dude giving this stuff ill be hehre again!

Leave a Reply

