Success in Social Media starts with YOU!

Do you remember back in high school, college or even your professional life, the one person who seemed like they wanted to be Mr. or Mrs. Participation, only to disappear when it was time to do the work?  That what a new study from RJMetrics reminded me of when I read it last week.  The study says that Twitter has hit 75 million users, which is great.  The problem, to me, are these figures:

  • About 25 percent of Twitter users have no followers.
  • About 40 percent have never sent a single Tweet.
  • 80% percent of Twitter users have sent fewer than 10 tweets since signing up.

I realize that people have gravitated to social media thinking that they HAD to do it.  But remember the old saying,” If he jumped off a bridge, would you jump too?” Jump in (to social media, not off a bridge, please!) because you want to, not because you have to do it.  Why sign up for Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn if you aren’t going to use it to your advantage?  I’m on the social media bandwagon and have been for some time.  It’s provided a new avenue to network for my career and foster new friendships. I took the plunge because I wanted to be part of the conversation.

Whether you are a social media veteran or first-time Tweeter, here are five ways which you can enhance your social media presence.

  1. Go for a swim- There is nothing like testing the waters to see what is being discussed.  On Facebook, don’t be afraid to comment on a friend’s posting.  On Twitter, you could join a chat like #Journchat, #PRStudChat, or #SportsPRChat.  This will get your juices flowing and your mind thinking.
  2. Play favorites- Start following people in your field.  This is a great way to not only gain knowledge, but hopefully get others following you.  And that leads to…
  3. Think before you post- Don’t just post something random, like “I didn’t want to get out of the shower today.” Read blogs, news sites, and e-mails.  Then retweet something that you think others would find interesting. It’s about quality, not quantity.
  4. Get Smart- Don’t be afraid to reach out to professionals, especially if they can help you become more savvy.  It’s also a great way to break down any fears you may have about asking for help.
  5. Don’t Give Up- After a month at being on Twitter and Facebook, you see your friend count at 20, while a friend’s is at 200.  Take one step at a time, build your empire of social media followers.  The more active you are, the more apt people are follow you on Twitter.  On Facebook, start searching for old friends and current ones.

Start today.  Dive into your Facebook page and add a profile photo, put some information in and follow some groups.  Are you one of the 40 percent that haven’t sent a single Tweet? Change that today.

What are your success stories in social media?

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on February 2, 2010, in Hot Topic, Inspiration, Media, Public Relations, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I agree with everything you said. You just can’t be afraid to reach out to people who you think are going to help you in the long run. I’m fairly new on a lot of social media sites, and I honestly didn’t want to get involved, but caved under pressure from a friend. Now, I can honestly say I am so happy I did it and joined in. I’ve learned so much from the people I talk with on social media sites, more than I ever would have if I decided to stay out of it.

  2. Stephanie,

    I’m so glad to hear you enjoy using social media. It has become a wonderful conduit for pros and soon-to-be pros in networking. I know I can attest to its reach for a job prospect.

    Thanks for stopping by and hope you’ll continue to do so!

    Best,
    Jason

  3. This is an especially awesome post today, Jason! I had no idea how many Tweeps weren’t really engaged in any conversations! That’s astounding and sad. I believe social media, Twitter especially, has changed my life. And not because Twitter is an all-powerful source, but because it provides tools that can make a huge difference in your career if you use them effectively. I’m thankful for social media and how connected it has helped me to become with other industry students and professionals.

    Thanks for sharing this!
    Lauren

  4. Thanks for stopping by Lauren!
    Social media has reshaped my life as a professional and a person. I’ve always believed if you start something that you should see it to completion. If a person signs up for Twitter, take it for a spin. The more you Tweet, the better it will be.

    Keep up the great work on your blog!

  5. Its all about engaging with the community. I love networking offline and since the world is going online its time to make that shift to engage with the online community. What I find awesome about social media is when you can take that online engagement and turn into an offline interaction, thats true networking.

Leave a Reply

