A lesson in fun.

What a whirlwind this week.  First, it was great to be a guest blogger at Lauren Novo an Niki Pocock’s places and give some advice to those who are about to become or already are public relations pros.  I enjoy giving back any way that I can.  So a hearty THANK YOU (again) to two wonderful ladies.

The second half of the week was a bit of a slog though.  I’ve been getting bogged down with work and I’m not complaining, but I found myself getting all worked up about the smallest things.  As PR people, we are paid to make sure details are taken care of to the point where you can’t wiggle anything through.  This week, I just let everything get to me.  I couldn’t make a sense of what I was reading for a plan I was writing and I wasn’t able to focus on any of my research.

I finally had to step away from my desk and do something.  I was getting so annoyed that something very easy was getting harder by the moment.  I walked into the lobby of our building and a young boy was sitting there playing with a PlayStation Portable.  I’m a video game type of guy, so I asked him what he was playing.  He was mashing away at  Madden.  I always get my tail whupped in that game, so I asked him why he was enjoying it.  He said, “It’s just fun.”

Then, it really hit me. I wasn’t having much “fun” working on what I was doing.  I needed to kick start my enjoyment and realize that the harder you make things for yourself, the tougher it is to get things done.  We have all done this at some point.  We rack our brains for the answer and become so frustrated we can’t even put a simple thought together.

I’ve found that we are at our productive best when we are clear-headed.  Sure, easier said than done.  But, try this: Close your eyes for ten seconds and clear everything out of your head.  I’ve been doing this lately and it’s worked wonders.  I would also suggest simply getting up from your desk and going for a short walk. Maybe you work in an office complex where you can walk to a vending machine or through the lobby.  The amount of time it takes for you to do that is enough to give you something else to focus on. 

Look, we all get stressed out during the day at some point.  Maybe the boss is on your case or you’ve had a rough morning.  You will find that a little breather can go a long way in helping you deal with the rest of your project or even your day. 

Just remember… Stop. Breathe. Then move on.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on February 26, 2010, in Hot Topic, Inspiration, Public Relations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Jason, that’s so true, that sometimes the smallest of breaks can reap the biggest of rewards as far as efficiency. Pretty much the only time I am truly away from a whole bunch of stimuli (kids and/or adults needing something, work to do, stuff to read, the list goes on and on) is when I am running. I continue to be amazed how taking my brain away from things to look at (besides trees, homes, dogs, etc.) allows it to “unfurl” and to turn things over and over, looking at them from different perspectives. I guess it provides a little bit of distance which helps give whatever the “quandary of the day” is new perspective. Have a great weekend!

    • Paula,

      Running is a GREAT way to unwind and clear you head. I should have also mentioned that, if you can, a midday workout is another good way to get some stress out. When the weather is nice in my area, I try to take my bike out for a half-hour and just ride. That does it for me.

      Thanks so much for stopping by.. here’s to a great weekend!

  2. Wow, Jason, you hit it on the nail! It’s amazing how the same project can be horrific or enjoyable depending on the perspective you take. I get stressed out sometimes when I am tasked with something I haven’t experienced before, but then I remember just how lucky I am to have that opportunity and that what I’m doing is going to make a big difference in a client’s life. PR really is so much fun — even when it’s hard — when you look at it the right way! Thanks for this inspiring post! I’ll make sure to read it again Monday morning when I’m trying to get back in the swing of things 🙂
    Lauren

    • Hi Lauren,

      You are very right.. you really have to look at it the right way. And it just doesn’t mean PR. We could say the same for life as well.

      Hope this helps when you get back to the grind on Monday! Thanks for stopping by!

      Jason

  3. Fun’s the key Jason!

    I teach this point to the students I come in to contact with in my job. You need to have fun with what you’re doing. Not only does it make you feel better but it actually works your brain in a different way so that you’re able to get more out to the task or tasks at hand.

    Great reminder to us all.

    • Thanks Ben. The minute the fun is gone you either need to find new work or “re-boot” your situation.
      Glad to hear you teach this to students you come in contact with!

      So happy you stopped by… enjoy the week!

      Jason

  4. Beautiful tip. We all need reminders like this on a daily basis. Life should be more fun! Thanks for sharing:)

Leave a Reply

