It’s common sense, right?!?

Over the last few weeks, I’ve read more than a few white papers, listened and watched webinars, and read a book on how to better use social media. I’ve been told on more than a few occasions that you need to have a plan and you should understand what you are getting into when it comes to our friendly neighborhood Twitter or Facebook account.

While I agree that, in business, you should have a plan (you have a strategy for everything else right?), when it comes to our own individual social media accounts, is it necessary to map this out? When I first started using Twitter, I didn’t sit up at night and say, “I want 200 followers by the end of this month.”  I signed on, jumped in, and started talking.  The same went for Facebook.  I found co-workers, friends, and family to follow.  No plan, no scheme, no a-ha moment.

When using social media, I’m a firm believer in common sense.  Case in point, the young gal who tweeted that she was going to start at Kelly Cutrone’s People’s Revolution.  I’m all for getting excited about a new gig, but when you pop off that you will be “part of the cast,” that’s not using your head.   It doesn’t take that much thought to use social media, believe me.

We all (hopefully) think before we act.  The same should be done when it comes to Tweeting and posting on Facebook. Do we really need a handbook for this? I know some of you out there will argue that, yes, a handbook is needed because there are so many that don’t get it when it comes to social media.

Remember when you took that internship in college… they didn’t hand you something to tell you how to answer a phone or deal with clients and the media.  We learned by watching and being a sponge.

It’s becoming my belief more each day that if we stop for a moment and come to our senses, we’ll see through the smoke and have clarity.

So, let me ask you folks…do we need a social media handbook or is it really common sense? Share your thoughts.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 5, 2010, in Hot Topic, Personal Branding, Public Relations, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hi Jason, I think you raise good questions. I know one thing I have struggled with is how much to “push” my blog. A friend and I started at the same time, and she accumulated around 150 followers rapidly (whole different blog topic – food) while I am at around 8. The thing is my blog has a bunch of self disclosure in it and a pretty diverse set of topics. I also know people read it who are not followers b/c they tell me about it months after the fact. For now, I am settling for the fact that blogging weekly makes me exercise my writing muscle, and my core group of followers/readers are SO great about feedback and commenting. The “blogging success” books and tips would probably have me doing some kind of campaign to push it, but my instinct says that in this situation, having a successful, shareable blog is about more than the numbers.

    • Paula,

      You make a great point. There’s nothing wrong with pushing your blog. In my realm at a PR/Marketing person, it’s part of what I know and have learned. You need to promote. Now, I’m not spam worthy, but I like to let people know about my content. Like I said, it’s common sense. You wouldn’t continually interrupt a conversation with your own thoughts; you would interject when necessary and add to the conversation.

      Glad you stopped by!

      Best,
      Jason

  2. Jason,

    The only problem with common sense is that I’ve found that it isn’t all that common! If common sense was a bit more common then people wouldn’t do the host of incredibly stupid things with social media that we all see examples of daily. The people who bad-mouth their employers, post inappropriate pictures of themselves, tell all the ‘dirty details’ from their weekend, etc. etc. etc. So perhaps a handbook is in order. The problem is the people for whom it would be written wouldn’t be any more likely to read it than the thousands of articles and blogs which are already out there warning about the potential damage of posting the wrong things for the whole world to see. Just my two cents!

    Lisa

    • Lisa,

      Your two cents are always welcomed and encouraged here! You are right, common sense is not all that common any longer. That is sort of my lament nowadays. I wish we would see more common sense and less “dirty details” as you say.

      I emphasize it all the time.. think before you post. Unfortunately, many do not heed that warning.

      I look forward to your comments again on a future blog post.

      Thanks!
      Jason

  3. Hi Jason,

    I think a handbook, or some sort of guide is needed unfortunately. I’d say only a handful of people understand Social Media, especially Twitter. The problem is that Social Media lends itself to a persons creativity, and in the hands of a very creative person amazing things can happen. Put it in the hands of your average marketer and they will spam spam spam.

    I also find people are very focused on how many followers they have, just as much as people were obsessed with website hits. ‘The Long Tail’ explains how this should not matter, as those hits / followers mean nothing if they do not interact.

    I have about 100 followers and like it that way, I get to know the people that follow me and can interact better this way… and since I am just a PR student, not a big organisation, this suits me fine 🙂

    David

    • David,

      Thanks for your reply. I’d like to touch on the followers part, which I blogged about on here a few posts ago. I’m lucky to have the followers I have, but in many cases it seems that those that have 10,000 followers don’t interact much, except to pitch something or RT something that is not really of interest.

      If you don’t interact, why bother following.

      I hope you are enjoying your journey in PR!

      Jason

Leave a Reply

