Men bloggers are better? Ummm…

I love a good debate.  It’s a chance to see where people stand on issues and enjoy conversation.  Well, I opened up my e-mail at work and saw the headline, “Why are bloggers male?” It seemed innocent enough, so I clicked on the link which took me to Margaret Wente’s item in the The Globe and Mail out of Toronto, Ontario.

The title of her opinion piece “Why Are Bloggers Male?” seemed innocent enough, until I read this line:

It’s more of a guy thing. Guys seek thrills and speed.  They go for the adrenaline rush… That’s why guys like blogging- instant opinions, and lots of them.

Ok, so as a male, I am a blogger because I (let me grunt like a caveman here) love lots of speed, want to get rush, or as Ms. Wente puts it, part of “Male Answer Syndrome” (MAS).  According to Ms. Wente, I blog because it’s closely related to a sex-linked compulsion (yeah, explain that to my wife).  Her opinion piece is, to put it mildly, a sexist rant on the male/female debate.  Funny, I really thought that we were kind of past that whole thing.

I would like to offer Ms. Wente some examples of excellent FEMALE bloggers, ones who don’t, as she says in her piece, “lack the public confidence that comes so easily to many men.”

Mikinzie Stuart, Samantha Ogborn, Lauren Novo, and Rebecca Thorman are just four of many great examples of people who not only bring brilliance to the blogosphere, but don’t need to be qualified along gender lines.  Click on their names to read their blogs.

I felt sad for Ms. Wente, who I am sure is nice person.  However, her opinion piece falls incredibly flat and reeked of snark and a holier than thou attitude.  She got me to read this and I guess that it was somewhat of a good thing.  It got me to write a blog.  But wait..  I’m a man, so I should be a pro at this blog thing, right?

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 18, 2010, in Hot Topic, Media, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Well, Ms. Wente’s piece was interesting. What blogs has she been reading? In all seriousness, I think she is addressing a particular type of blog — the “let me spit out my opinion right this second so everyone know what I think” type. The blogosphere is full of those (written by both genders), some that are more effective than others. I think she is neglecting a whole subgroup of the blogosphere, those of us who think through a topic and try in our blog to make people think a little harder (or differently), go into their day or week energized and having an expanded perspective, and in general take the time to notice aspects of the world around us that we are sometimes in too much of a hurry to notice (maybe because we are distracted by some of those adreno-blogs!).

    My mother in law raised 6 children (4 boys, 2 girls) and always says both genders will color on the walls — boys will do it right in front of you and girls will do it behind the couch. Either way kids will be kids. I’d like to offer Ms. Wente a box of Crayolas (or maybe a BIG GREEN PEN!

    • Paula,

      I agree with you as far as what she was trying to get at; I just think that the vast majority of bloggers aren’t like this. Sure you have the left/right leaning political blogs that scream at a particular party, or the sports blogs. But there is so much GREAT content out there. All Ms. Wente had to do was check out Twitter or a quick Google search before writing what she did.

      I think the Big Green Pen would have been very helpful to her! 🙂

  2. I saw that same headline! In scanning the piece I just couldn’t find any reason to believe that there was anything substantive about her comments. As you point out Jason, there are numerous female bloggers that are overlooked here, and I’d go so far to say that I was inspired to start blogging BECUASE I followed some great blogs – all written by females! I think especially in the PR world (which seems to lean toward more females) the blogs are fantastic, well-thought out, and expertly written.

    I guess we can just say “oh well!” and move on. Thanks for the post!

    • Micah,

      Thanks for stopping by the blog. All she had to is a little research to see she was wrong. But, when you want to prove a point, sometimes the facts get in the way of a good story, or opinion piece.

  3. Hey Jason,
    Well said. I read that article this morning. Sadly it stereotypes men and women and blogging in one fell swoop! Crazy! Great to see you address it here and I look forward to checking out the links here.
    Cheers!
    Jen

    • Jen,

      You are a great blogger who gives great advice. It bothered me to see that Ms. Wente’s piece tossed aside work like yours and I find that to be short-sighted.

      Thanks for all you do to bring great advice and worth to the blogosphere.

      Best,
      Jason

  4. You mean by default I’m not a better blogger because I have my own cave and bashing club? Darn!

    How sad that people have to resort to this kind of stereotype bashing in this day and age.

    • Sometimes people feel the pen (or keyboard) is mightier than the sword. To me, she cut off her nose to spite her face. Sad commentary, to me.

      Thanks Ben!

      Jason

  5. It’s nice to read a male perspective on this!

    Thanks for chiming in on this debate and writing about it.

    – A

  6. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly loved surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

