What inspires me? You!

Lauren Novo is a senior at Florida State University with a double major in Media/Communication Studies and Creative Writing. Additionally, she serves as the staff writer for Trusteria Services, a regional company in Tallahassee, and as a public relations staff assistant for RB Oppenheim Associates, a local PR agency. Connect with her on Twitter, LinkedIn and read her blog, Gen-Y PRogress: Lauren Novo’s PR Journey.

Last week, Jason asked what inspired me. He invited me to write a guest post, highlighting why it is I’m always giving back to others, through my blog in particular.

I was flattered. But also taken by surprise. Jason is the one who continuously shares my posts; who leaves encouraging comments on my blog; who asks how my week is going and offers to help in any way he can; who recently contributed to my “Art of” series; and who dropped everything he was doing to write me a glowing letter of endorsement for an award entry.

And he thinks I give back? He wants to know what inspires me?

What inspires me… is all of you. All you professionals who take the time out of your chaotic lives to pay it forward to the next generation of PR pros.

Seriously, think about it. Deirdre Breakenridge is recognized as one of the industry’s greatest thought leaders. She’s written highly acclaimed books and owns her own company. Valerie Simon is a vice president at BurrellesLuce and freelance writer for The Examiner.

Do you think either of these two women needed to start #PRStudChat – a monthly Twitter chat between PR students and professionals—to build up their resumes and portfolios? I doubt it. They have already “made it.” What they are doing is above and beyond. They are selflessly giving back as devoted mentors.

There’s also Arik Hanson, an APR-certified professional who has participated in various local and national online initiatives. Most recently, he teamed up with Valerie to start the “Help a PR Pro Out” (HAPPO) campaign. He has a job. In fact, he owns his own business. He doesn’t need to concern himself with helping PR job seekers connect with employers. It’s a choice. An admirable choice.

I could go on and on, but you get the point.

So yes, I do my best to give back too. I use my blog to help my peers when opportunities arise. As an extension of the HAPPO initiative, I’ve started a “PR Job Seeker of the Week” series every Friday. But so what?

I’m only 21 years old. I’m a senior at Florida State University for another month, but a student always. I’ve got a long way to go. There is much more I can and will do, and I have my many mentors—both near and far—to thank for that.

That’s what inspires me.

What inspires you?

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 29, 2010, in Guest Blog, Inspiration, Job Search, Personal Branding, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Lauren, great post. Having been in the same organization for 15.5 years, and trying to decide how to continue to grow professionally, I am currently inspired by stories of people who took risks, followed their hearts, and ended up richer — not monetarily but spiritually!

    And……I am inspired by people like you — your comment the other day when I was commenting about my single-digit number of followers, that once I’m on Twitter I’m reaching exponentially more, was a real mood lifter!!

    I’ll see you at #BeMyGuest on Wednesday!!

    • Paula,

      Thanks for stopping by! I think it’s awesome that you’ve been at the same job for that many years. It’s rare to see that kind of longevity and it must mean that you’ve found what you’re looking for. I agree that it’s important to always try to keep growing. I hope that my love for learning never fades, even when I’m far removed from school. And yes, like I said before, your number of blog “followers” has nothing to do with the number of people who actually read and enjoy it. You’re doing a great job!

      I’m excited for #bemyguest on Wednesday too 🙂

      Lauren

  2. Lauren,

    Thank you for the kind words. Jason was spot on in selecting you to write this post. Let me take a moment to answer your “so what”. I happen to be a tremendous fan of your creative blog initiatives. Your “Job Seeker of the Week” series is giving a deserving person an opportunity to be in the spotlight… to make some new connections, which very well may lead to a job or business opportunity down the road. It is providing support and encouragement. Deirdre and I often comment that in #PRStudChat, everyone is both a student and a teacher. YOU make that statement true. Moreover, you show that everyone can be both a mentor and a mentee. Keep up the great work. It absolutely inspires me 🙂

    • Valerie,

      I really appreciate your answer to my “so what” question. It’s really uplifting to hear that just doing what I love makes an impact on others. And I can’t thank you and Deirdre enough for what you’ve done with #PRStudChat. I honestly believe that my career as a PR professional will be tremendously better because of what I learn every month in that chat. I promise, I’m taking notes because I plan to pay it forward to students once I’ve made it as well 🙂

      Thanks for the kind comment!
      Lauren

  3. Hey Lauren
    Great post! I definitely agree, Valerie, Deidre, Jason, and Arik are all great role models and really go out of their way to help others out. I know that if I post a question on Twitter about anything, someone will answer me back, even if it just to refer me to someone who can better answer it!

    Great job as usual!

    Stephanie

    • Hey Stephanie!

      I know exactly what you mean about Twitter! It’s amazing how such successful and busy pros will take the time to answer our questions. Their generosity is inspiring! Thanks for reading my post 🙂

      Lauren

  4. A lovely post Lauren – so nice to see you here.

    What inspires me is knowing that there is so much more of me to give. This demotivates most people as they think that they haven’t offered much to others but to me knowing that there is bigger and better out the inspires me to keep pushing day after day.

    Great writers like Jason help to remind me of this inspiration on a regular basis.

    • Ben,

      I’m always thrilled when you stop by the blog. Thanks again! I’m flattered by your compliment and I consider you one of the blogosphere’s greats as well. Keep inspiring others to better themselves.. you certainly done so for me.

    • Hi Ben!

      I’m glad you liked my post. It’s definitely both intimidating and inspiring to see PR pros doing so many great things. If I can make HALF the impact as those in my blog post have made, I’ll be amazed and grateful! Thanks for stopping by and offering the encouragement!

      Lauren

Leave a Reply

