Stepping up to the plate

“And then? And then when I walked down the street people would’ve looked and they would’ve said there goes Roy Hobbs, the best there ever was in this game.”– Roy Hobbs, The Natural

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve had the chance to blog and to say things are busy would be an understatement.  We’ve been stacked with a ton of client work in the office, which is a great thing.  Now, this isn’t going to be some long soliloquy on the long hours and work load.  I do want to say just how much of a GREAT learning experience it has been though.

Last week, I did a guest post at Samantha Ogborn’s blog talking about patience. (Thanks again, Sam!) I said that it’s a continuing process and that, yes, I am still learning to be patient.  Part of what I talked about, I needed to put into action because I was feeling like I was in a slump.  I didn’t feel confident in my work.

credit: NY Daily News

I decided to go into baseball mode.  On Monday, I went over everything that I’ve been doing, kind of like what players do when they are in a batting slump.  I looked at my routine, my work ethic, my approach to the day, etc.  Here’s what I figured out. Sometimes we try TOO hard. We all want success, but you can’t be swinging for the fences every time.  Level things out. That “home run” will come.

You can think strategically, but don’t over think. Does that make sense? The late Bill Robinson, who was the hitting coach for the 1986 New York Mets, had a hitting camp I once took part in as a kid. Now, I may not have turned out to be the next Gary Carter, but he preached the “Slow feet, quick hands” approach to hitting.  I’ve actually used this approach in PR.  What I mean is: by slowing things down and allowing yourself to think about your plans, the thoughts will come more quickly.

Remember, you need to put yourself in a position to succeed. I don’t mean that you should quit your job.  What I do suggest is to think about how you can help your firm and your clients do well.  Ask questions and be two steps ahead.  It will show that you are invested in the overall success… your’s and the client’s.

Lastly, don’t fear striking out. You can’t bat 1.000.  Be realistic and have a sound approach.  That will breed success.

What is your approach? What are your “slump busters? Let me know in the comments.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on May 28, 2010, in Hot Topic, Inspiration, Public Relations, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Boy, Jason, I wish I had a slump buster to recommend! Sometimes I feel like I am in “therapy by comment” by all the great questions that are raised by the bloggers I follow.

    So I guess step #1 is realizing you are in a slump. In your case, part of that involved tuning in to the fact that you were not feeling confident in your work.

    Six months ago I was transferred from one position to another, out of a position involving customer service and direct supervision, to one involving a different segment of our clients and not supervising any staff. I am grateful for this job, but six months has helped me clearly see that I really love customer service and need to keep it part of my work life in some way.

    Although I didn’t ask for this transfer, I think I thank karma or divine intervention for the mental break that I have been given by not having the supervisory responsibilities; I loved those people but as anyone who supervises knows, it is its own kind of stress.

    So, getting to a slump buster, I have to say that it involves incorporating things into my life outside of work that make me super-happy (writing, running, involvement in filmmaking) while the “day job” issues get sorted out. Hopefully at some point everything will coalesce for me!

    • Paula,

      Your slump buster is perfect. I think involving yourself in something that can invigorate you is key. It helps with the balance of life. Your on the way to coalescence! 🙂

  2. Love this Jason!

    What a great philosophy for life? “Slow feet, fast hands!” That’s very good.

    I think we all need to check out our game plan from time to time and work out why we’re doing what we’re doing as well as look to our tool and strategies.

    • Thanks Ben!

      The “Slow feet, quick hands” thing has stuck with me for years. I’ll step away from my desk and say that to myself. It’s been very helpful.

Leave a Reply

