One Giant Leap…

“That’s one small step for (a) man; one giant leap for mankind.”Neil Armstrong, July 20, 1969.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve done a bit of soul searching.  I don’t mind admitting I’ve been doubting myself as of late.  You name it, I’ve felt it: Frustration, anger, and disappointment.  As I was flipping the channels at home the other night, I saw a special on the Apollo 11 mission.

I’m a huge NASA nut, always have been.  You’ve read about the Apollo 11 or even lived the moment.  Neil Armstrong descending the lunar lander and onto the surface of the moon, then uttering the words I’ve quoted above.  It was a mighty leap for man.

NASA

But, it also provided me with a bit of inspiration that I was looking for lately.  In my opinion, social media is the new frontier of digital exploration.  We constantly look for new ways to use it to our advantage, educationally and professionally. We are essentially the astronauts on a new mission: Push the envelope and find the vehicle to promote our company or brand.

A few days ago I asked on Twitter: What is it about social media that makes us so passionate about it? I received a great response from Deirdre Breakenridge, the president and executive director of Mango! Creative Juice.  She tweeted to me:

To answer your question…collaborating and sharing ideas with people around the world! There are no borders.

That is what NASA accomplished with not just the space program, but the Apollo missions.  To prove that we are not defined by just this planet, but by what we explore outside of it.  The more we collaborate with each other, we gain knowledge that helps us in public relations, marketing, journalism, etc.

We can sometimes be hesitant to take that next step or venture out of our own borders.  Don’t be.  NASA has had its share of failures: Apollo 1 and then the two Space Shuttle accidents.  Each time, the agency picked themselves up and moved forward.  We are not defined by failure, instead we are defined by how we learn from it.

Remember this: We can shoot for the moon all we want, but we need the rocket to get there.  What will be your rocket and what are you looking to be your giant leap?

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on July 20, 2010, in Hot Topic, Inspiration, Public Relations, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I liked this post, Jason (and I like this background which may not be that new but this is the first time I have seen it). The older we get and the more obligations we have, the easier it is to lose sight of boarding the “rocket” – thanks for a reminder that it’s worth the risk.

  1. Pingback: Twitted by dbreakenridge

Leave a Reply

