The phone IS NOT dead

On Monday, Tegan Zimmerman (@TeganZimmerman) tweeted an article from ZDNet.com.  I clicked the link to a post by Zack Whittaker at ZDNet titled, “Phone Calls: An endangered species, killed by social media.” I normally bypass these sorts of stories, but I was intrigued.

Can you hear me now? Good!

Whittaker conducted a test.  He called 20 people in the same time zone and country. The results brought him to the conclusion that:

1) The phone call is “dying off” with GenX.

2) GenY/iGen are using phones, but not as phones.

Now, Whittaker says in his piece that he actually prefers a phone call.  But that GenY/iGen “is scared of picking up the phone.” I suggest clicking on the link to read the entire story.

My feeling is that the phone is far from dead, even in this time of social media.  I also take issue with the snap test.  I don’t think it really proves that ANY generation is not using the phone as much.  What it proves it that some people answered the phone and some didn’t, regardless of generation.

In public relations, talking over the phone is integral for pitching.  Sure, we are also using Facebook and Twitter as well, but that person-to-person time is so important. We use the phone to conduct business meetings and to stay in touch with current clients (and to get new ones). Plus, how many PR pros put their cell numbers on a business card and/or email signature? It’s in mine.

I know the phone is not what it use to be.  We are a more mobile society.  The phone is still very relevant and that goes for the public relations field, too.

Do you think the phone is dead? Ring me… er, I mean, drop your comments below.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on August 3, 2010, in Hot Topic, Media, Public Relations, Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think social media enhances phone calls. SM allows you to establish a relationship instead of just having an initial rushed phone or in-real-life intro. Once you do get the person on the phone on in-person, you already have a history and things to talk about. Your already-established relationship makes your phone call that much more valuable.

Leave a Reply

