Follow Friday: Ryan Knapp

Welcome to Follow Friday! For those that are new to the blog, I’ve taken the Twitter tradition and started to pay it forward in some small way by highlighting someone I think you should know.  This week, Ryan Knapp authored a

Ryan Knapp

post that really impacted me.

His confession, “Being Good at Nothing, But Mediocre at a Lot” was a heartfelt post that really hits home with many of us. This part was what really impacted me:

You see, the price I personally paid for hustling was losing myself in the process. I ended up hustling for the wrong reasons. I lost focus, and was generally ineffective.

I admit, after reading blog post after blog post on Top 10 ways to do x or How to succeed at Y,  I hustled because I was trying to live someone else’s life.

I think Ryan’s post is something we can all use to show what is important and what isn’t.

Who is Ryan? I’m honored to say that I had the opportunity to have lunch with Ryan earlier this year before he moved from Buffalo, N.Y. to Kansas City, Mo. to work as the New Media Coordinator at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).  He’s a triathlete and, to be honest, one of the nicest people I’ve met.  Ryan is a genuine guy and someone you should be following.

You can read more of his blog at: http://www.ryanjknapp.com.
You can follow him on Twitter: @ryanknapp.
About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on October 22, 2010, in Follow Friday, Inspiration, Personal Branding, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jason – Thanks so much for the kind words. What a great way to come into the office on Monday morning. I hope my post rings true with a lot of people.

    We’ll get together when I come home for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

