It’s still about networking

“Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?”
Um, he’s sick. My best friend’s sister’s boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend heard from this guy who knows this kid who’s going with the girl who saw Ferris pass out at 31 Flavors last night. I guess it’s pretty serious.”
Thank you, Simone.”

Ok, so maybe this isn’t the greatest example to show you how networking can be an advantage, but I hope you see what I’m getting at here.  We are always networking… whether it be at work, out with friends, or online. Think about your last client meeting. Did you discuss how you can help with a plan or an event? You are networking.

 

courtesy Bio Job Blog

One of the greatest tools for networking nowadays is social media.  I find Twitter to be a wonderful opportunity to not just establish friendships, but grow them.  But, it takes networking to foster those relationships.  How many times have we seen people say that thanks to a Twitter friend, they were able to get an interview or even a job.

 

I posted this on Facebook recently:

Friendships can be the foundation for life. Some of us have many, others a few. It’s not the quantity, but the quality. Think about it…

We make our foundations stronger by the quality of people we surround ourselves with in life. One great example is when friend tells their friend(s) or colleague(s) about you.  Maybe you’ve helped them in the past or provided advice.  They’ve now networked and provided another opportunity to meet someone who could help you down the road.

Remember… the contacts you make today could result in success tomorrow.

What are some ways you’ve networked? Let me know in the comments section.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on November 9, 2010, in Branding, Marketing, Personal Branding, Public Relations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love this post! Networking is SO important, especially with all the technology we have today. We need to establish connections, grow them and keep them because you never know how they could affect your future or help you with your future.

    Great post!!

    • Great post, Jason! Networking is definitely so important, both online and off! I’ve always used Twitter to network with PR pros and students…I’ve been able to “meet” people I never would have been able to otherwise (like you!)

      But there’s definitely something to be said for the IRL networking! I’m at every FPRA Capital Chapter meeting and I try to meet the newbies and really get to know at least one new person each time! Community tweet-ups are also great ways to meet new people who may or may not be in your industry… there’s a monthly Tallahassee tweet-up (started by @NikiPocock) and I attend as often as I can!

      • Good point about the IRL networking, Lauren, and the FPRA meetings are a great way to foster those relationships. Tweet ups are a such a perfect way to grow on and off-line friendships and contacts.
        You all do a terrific job in Florida!

  2. I like to put a face and personality to a name, so I try to meet people I know from Twitter in person. I think it’s important to take the relationship offline when possible.

    Sometimes it can be disappointing. There are some people who seemed awesome on Twitter and were really non-impressive in real life.

    But, I’ve also become good friends with people from Twitter as well (such as @hannahdemilita and @mikinzie).

    • People are always going to be busy so I recommend working with what you’ve got. My favorite way to do this is chatting by phone during my commute. If you build it into your schedule networking will be not only natural and lead to great connections, but it’ll be a regular occurence.

      Side note: Rachel, I thought you and Mikinzie were friends in real life first! That just goes to show how social media can impact personal friendships.

    • Thanks for your perspective, Rachel. I’ll echo what @StephanieFlo said on Twitter. I had no idea you didn’t know @Mikinzie IRL. I think that shows just how, when you network and build relationships the right way, it can be a strong bond.

  3. I enjoy all kinds of networking, but I would most enthusiastically comment about how social media (mostly FB and twitter) have been tremendous assets to me from a networking standpoint. For one thing, I love to write (probably more than I love to “chat” verbally) so I believe a clearer version of “me” comes out via those mechanisms. I have heard a lot of people complain about the new “show friendship” feature of Facebook, but I do think Facebook (not the friendship feature specifically) demonstrates the interconnectedness among people – an interconnectedness they would not have known about otherwise.

    I also think (much to my teenager’s lament) that FB (mostly) gives me a much more interesting and representative picture of what is going on in the lives of people of other generations (yep, pass the Geritol) than I would otherwise get. Teenagers, my young adult nieces, the students I work with in the Film School – I have a much better idea (for better or worse) what they’re all about (at least their FB persona) and theoretically they have a more clear sense of who I am than we would have without Facebook. Definitely more plusses than minuses and a great networking resource!

    • Thanks Paula! Twitter and FB have been a great asset for me as well. In some ways, writing gives people a chance to see who you are and where you stand. I also believe it gives you a chance, via a blog, to network. What better way for someone to understand your style or personality, than a blog.

  4. My favorite place is still LinkedIn, though Twitter is a close second. With LinkedIn, it’s easy to do searches and send customized messages to HR people or industry folks, or even join X group and send out a msg to the mass audience. I still think this is a vastly underrated network, though I’d love to know how their paid service is doing vs. their non-paid users.

    @Worob
    PR at Sunrise (worob.com)

    • Love this post! My favorite place to connect with people is Twitter, then hopefully get to meet them IRL at a networking event or just a coffee chat. For those out of state, I have turned to Skype to get a face to face conversation! It’s definitely a fun experience and you get to learn a lot more about people than you would get from 140 characters.

  5. Since being laid off (company was sold) I have launched several social media accounts not only because it is career-related (online marketing), but also to network and learn about new job opportunities.

    Recently, a twitter friend let me know about a job opening at her company and offered to put my resume in for me for the open position. I have an interview with this company on Friday — all thanks to this wonderful person and networking on twitter!

  1. Pingback: It’s still about networking (via One Guy’s Journey) | Wayne State University PRSSA

Leave a Reply

