Got a dream? Pursue it.

Over the Thanksgiving break, I watched “Eat Pray Love” with Julia Roberts.  It’s based on the New York Times best-seller by Elizabeth Gilbert.  The book chronicles the author’s trip around the globe after a divorce and what she discovered about herself during these travels.

It provided a lot of inspiration, not because I’m going to go and get divorced and travel the world, though.  What it did show me is that our minds tend to get clouded with things we believe to be true.  We think something is “perfect,” when, in essence, it’s not.

At some point or another, we dream of something more. It hits us that, “Hey, this is not what I want to be doing” or “I don’t want to be doing this any more.”  What do you do then? You pursue your dream.  Easier said than done? Not really.

1) Start with a plan. This means looking at what you really want to do and write down how you want to get to it.

2) Explore what is out there. One of the main things I did when I was searching for a job a year ago was identify a place where I could really grow.  Search Google, talk to friends and colleagues, ask the questions you want answered.

3) Take a risk. When I left my television career for public relations five years ago, I was a little nervous.  Would I be able to make the transition? How would I adapt? Many things in life are a risk and I took a big one.  Nothing is ever a certainty.

4) Believe in your goals. You may not find success right away, but there is an old adage, “If you believe it, you can achieve it.” You can do anything that you put your mind to. That leads us to…

5) Never give up. Don’t let someone tell you that you can’t do it or you don’t know what you are doing.  You may feel like you are slipping, but grab control of what you want to do. You are ALWAYS in control of the situation.

Remember, it’s never to late to have a life and it’s never to late to change one. GO FOR IT.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on December 1, 2010, in Inspiration, Job Search and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great post, great points – wish I had time to do a “real” comment – hopefully I can circle back around tonight!

  2. Michael Ogden (@grabbingtoast)

    This kind of post is exactly what I needed this morning. Some days it feels like things are slipping away and I appreciate the reminder to continue to take control and make life happen instead of letting life happen. Thank you Jason!

  3. I’ve always been a bit of a dreamer. This post just serves as a great reminder to keep pursuing my dreams. In my opinion, your point #4, which is about believing in your dreams/goals, is the hardest part. But, I know it’s the key element to turning a dream into reality. Thanks for another inspirational and brilliant post, Jason.

  4. Hi Jason,

    I said it the other day — this post really gets you going! I love it.

    Each point is so tight and true and applies to so many aspects of life.

    Really like the line about the mind creating false realities. Once you’re honest with yourself and let go — or, in this case, go for it — things can get exciting v. staying static.

    -Chris

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Got a dream? Pursue it. « One Guy's Journey -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

