An “AH HA” moment

During last night’s #HAPPO Twitter event, I was looking at all the advice given out to and for public relations pros (Thanks go out to Valerie Simon and Arik Hanson for their leadership on paying it forward in our field). I’m proud to be a HAPPO champion in the Buffalo, N.Y.-area.  But, I learned a valuable lesson as the tweets came flying by a like speeding bullet that Superman is faster than…

I DON’T KNOW SQUAT. You can unfollow me on Twitter if you feel it necessary.

For a few minutes after the chat, I was a little embarrassed.  Here I was giving information and trying to help fellow pros and I’m doubting my skills.  You know what though? It’s alright.  It was one of those “Ah Ha” moments that mark our lives.  Sure, I never thought I knew it all. I always want to keep learning.

The minute we stop learning is the time when we begin to think we are better than we really are.

And that’s the one thing I never want to stop doing.  The more I learn, the better I get.  Every day, I pick up something new.  It may come from a client email, a tweet, or even a phone call.  Great ideas and teachable moments can come in any size package.

You may not always agree with what you learned… that’s good.  You can learn something from disagreement. I’ve been in positions were I didn’t always see eye-to-eye with people.  Sure, it caused some pretty stressful times.  But, in the long run it taught me to stick to what I believed.  In my current job, we are always tossing around ideas.  It’s a collaborative atmosphere.  High-octane learning, I like to call it.

Do me a favor… take a moment today, whether it be at lunch, on the train, or at home, and learn something new.  Have your own “Ah Ha” moment!

What has your “Ah Ha” moment been this year? Let me know in the comments.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Hot Topic, Inspiration, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Good post, I actually just wrote a post on AHA moments for the current job I have. I work for an insurance marketing company and having that moment almost everyday, it’s nice to hear someone else having one.

    It’s part of the journey to have such times when you sit back and something finally comes to you that you feel was on the tip of your mind all along.

    Not seeing eye to eye with someone is probably one of the best ways to learn because you either have to work it out or combine ideas.

    -Alicia

    • Thanks for reading, Alicia!
      Not seeing eye-to-eye can really teach us a lot about who we are. The better we adjust to adversity, the more apt we are to ride the “wave” through tough times.

  2. This is right on: “The minute we stop learning is the time when we begin to think we are better than we really are.”

    You definitely know squat. There’s more than one way to approach things and get things done. What I often find so beneficial from an event like #HAPPO last night is you see how others would do it differently. And the people who choose to learn from those experiences are the ones who will benefit from the A Ha moments down the road.

    • The great thing about #HAPPO last night was that we could “listen” to everyone, pros that are employed, those that are not, and get great insights. I learned a ton.
      I appreciate your compliment… and you reading! 🙂

  3. Well, let’s see….an “a ha” moment. First, I completely concur with you that the moment we feel like we “know it all” should be a huge red flag for us that there is a new mountain to scale. As a newcomer to a yoga practice, I already see that as true – when I watch the teachers there, they have a commitment to extending their learning, sometimes physically and other times spiritually – it is a good role model.

    For my personal “a ha” moment, I think it had to do a bit with the power of self disclosure. I wrote a post in which I had a guest blogger talk about her family’s experience in a local financial fitness competition, and used that blog to disclose about one line’s worth of our family’s personal struggle in that area. Remarkably, I felt better and I did not have immediate certified letters from everyone who had ever loaned me change for a soft drink on my doorstep seeking their money back with interest. 🙂 More importantly, the feedback I did get was supportive instead of critical. That led me to an “a ha”. Here’s the post: http://waytenmom.blogspot.com/2010/10/loose-change.html

    • First of all, thank you for sharing that post. That is an incredible “a ha” moment that many families have. Ours has as well.
      Yoga is a great practice to always learn and continue to expand your thinking.
      Always love hearing your perspective, thanks again Paula! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention An “AH HA” moment « One Guy's Journey -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

