Just keep livin’

Right before Christmas, I was watching a Food Network special with Guy Fieri.  His guest during the entire hour-long program was actor Matthew McConaughey.  It was a fun show filled with food and good times, but one thing caught my eye more than the recipes.

McConaughey was wearing a shirt that said “j.k. livin.” I thought maybe it was a new brand of clothing, so I looked it up. j.k. livin’ is actually McConaughey’s foundation (the j.k. stands for “just keep”) that is “dedicated to helping teenage kids lead active lives and make healthy choices so they can become great men and women.”

But McConaughey added on the show that it’s also his state of mind to “just keep livin’.”  This got me thinking as well because of another event that occurred on Christmas Eve. A young girl in my area by the name of Meghan Redenbach, lost her battle with cancer.  She was only 15-years old.

The Buffalo News did an amazing story on her and I couldn’t help but tear up when I read it. Redenbach never stopped living, even when her battle became very tough. She believed she would make it to the next day.  Then, when that next day came, she believed she would make it to the next one. Redenbach’s story is inspirational.

So, we are reaching the end of another year.  We make resolutions like, “I want to get in better shape” or “I would like to get a new job.” Those are all fine.   But, will that provide your inspiration to live for today and the next?

We only have control over our lives. We can’t control what others do! Start by focusing on two or three things you’d like to accomplish today. Each accomplishment serves as a building block for something bigger. I know there are plenty of times when life throws so many things at us, we don’t think that we can’t overcome it.

But you CAN.  No one can say, “you can’t do it” to you.  Sure, it knocks you down. But, you get right back up and march on.  Maybe you’ve lost your job.  Use it as a springboard for success.

Never stop living… it’s never to late to have a life and it’s never to late to change one. Start today and change your state of mind!

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on December 28, 2010, in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well, Jason, I will admit up front that I RT’d this link before reading the post – consider it a sign that I know I can trust anything you write to be something my followers will like!

    This is a phenomenal, inspiring post.

    I read a great visual for how to “keep on going” in an article on “Strategic Impatience” I was editing down to fit in the newsletter of an organization I am involved in:

    What’s next? These are the two most important words in the impatient professional’s vocabulary. It’s like rock climbing: You secure a grip in your right hand while searching for the next hold with your left hand. Then, as soon as you lock your fingers into place, you swing forward into the next action. Always ascending with one hand secure, but never dwelling on the rocks of the past. (The full article is at http://www.hellomynameisscott.com/8-ways-be-strategically-impatient-0)

    Now, off to find that 2011 state of mind – thanks for the jump start!

  2. This is a great post, very inspiring! Thanks for sharing.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Post] "Just Keep Livin'" #PRStudChat #u30pro #blogchat -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

