Twitter turns 5

Twitter celebrates its 5th birthday March 21, with the first tweet sent out by co-founder Jack Dorsey:

Think about how far Twitter has come in five years.  It’s a platform for news, personal information, and social change.  Look at what is happening in Libya, Egypt, and our own electoral process.  Look at what Harrison Kratz did with TweetDrive this past holiday season. All of these things are examples of what Twitter has meant to us all.

Twitter changed my life for the better.  It’s made me a better PR pro and a better communicator.  It has introduced me to many wonderful pros and great chats like #PRStudChat and #u30pro, as well as the #HAPPO initiative.  All of these things would not have been possible without Twitter.

So, I ask you… what has Twitter meant to you? Let me know in the comments section.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I really believe Twitter is the greatest media relations tool since the press release.

    It solves so many age-old PR problems and is a marvellous, unobtrusive, low-effort way to start conversations and add value to reporters’ lives BEFORE asking them to cover you.

    • Jackson,

      Thank you for the comment. I love your opinion on Twitter. It really has reshaped how we, as PR pros, reach the media, customers, and clients. It’s a great survey tool as well.

  2. Twitter is a secret garden.

    For me it means a lot. Through Twitter I can connect with people I never imagined I will and it lets me share information and my passions with a world. I’m so happy you mentioned about Harrison Kratz and his TweetDrive campaign, about the great chats there where you meet a fantastic community. It’s not just about crisis and politics. It’s about PEOPLE, it’s about you.

    Twitter helps me become a better person and a better professional through the inspiring people I meet, through the share, through the caring.

    • George,

      It also bridges the continental divide. We wouldn’t be able to share information as quickly if not for Twitter. I’ve chatted with people in Australia, Turkey, and England, thanks to it.

  3. I agree Jason – Twitter has definitely changed my life for the better. I had a friend who would NOT leave me alone until I joined Twitter, which I was absolutely against for the longest time. I eventually just joined so he’d leave me alone. Now, I thank him for his pestering every chance I get.

    It’s definitely made me more understanding, more open, a better listener, a better student, a better professional, and makes me want to help so many others be all those things. Amazing!

  4. I like Twitter but unfortunately here in Italy is not used like in the rest of the world…
    Maybe in the future…
    Have a nice day 😉

Leave a Reply

