Keeping Balance at Work

At one time or another, whether you are new to your job or a long-time pro, you have complained about where you work. Maybe it’s the people you work with, the clients, or maybe the job itself. Regardless, once those thoughts enter your mind, it’s tough to let them go.

I speak from experience, since it wasn’t too long ago that I could not stand where I worked. Every single day was a pride swallowing siege, something I would never want to see any person go through. Can you just pick up and quit? Sure. But, if you have responsibilities like paying the mortgage and putting food on the table, telling your boss to “take this job and shove it,” isn’t exactly the smartest thing.

So what the heck should you do? Well, let me offer some advice:

1) Find something you truly like about the job– Maybe you are passionate about a project you are working on. Put your energy into making that project the best. Turn that negative energy into a positive.

2) Take short breaks throughout the day- Sitting at your desk for 8 hours straight isn’t good. Don’t always eat at your desk. The more time you spend inside those four walls will drive you batty. Get up and go for a walk. Work in the city? Step out to a food truck or Starbucks. Clear your head!

3) Accentuate the positive- Sure your boss is a knucklehead, but he’s your boss. Think about YOUR future while focusing on the task at hand. Take something from each experience and turn it into an opportunity down the road.

4) Blog- Wow, that was simple right? In all seriousness, writing can be a great part of keeping balance. Sometimes at our most frustrating points, typing/writing can bring great relief. It has worked for me numerous times.

5) Talk it out- Whether it’s a trusted co-worker or your significant other, take a moment to vent.  Now, I’m not talking about discussing everything from your first day on the job until now. Tell a friend your predicament. You never know the great advice you may get.

What do you like about where you work? What keeps you there if you aren’t motivated/happy/fulfilled? Let me know in the comments.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Hot Topic, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Another great entry, J. Balance at work is really important, as is balance of work and family. Needs to be an end to everyone’s day – as good or bad as the job may be. Great post.

  2. Timely for me, thanks for posting. It’s amazing how you effective these simple techniques are. Plus people often forget to step away from a minute and yea it just makes things worse.

    Nice post, thanks for sharing.

  3. Exactly! Jason, another great post and such a relevant topic. Last year, for my “New Year’s Resolutions” (I put that in quote because it’s hoowey – basically I set myself some goals and it happened to be the end of December 2009) – so, what I did was remind myself that I don’t need to let that feeling consume me. I was still in charge of ME, my attitude, my actions, my performance. I changed my mind-set to thinking of my co-workers as clients. We’ve all had a wide-range of client attitudes and we continue to help them tirelessly and with a big ol’ smile. So why not do the same in an office?

    I created goals for myself as I would have if these projects were for a client. That really helped me accomplish #1 and #3 on your list. And – no surprise – I started getting some back-patting. I wasn’t looking for that and I realized those didn’t really matter too much, either – which is a great feeling to not NEED those. I was doing this for ME, so I could be proud of the work I was doing.

    What a huge difference that change of mind-set made. I have to remind myself of this, but I’ve seen how effective it is, so it’s easier to flip that switch from grumpy to getter done!

    • Rachel,
      I think the more balance we gain in life and work, helps us become more complete people. It is incredibly tough at times to focus on the good in a job when there is negative.
      I like what you did with your co-workers. Smiles and being positive can go a looong way, especially in a small to mid-size firm/agency.
      Continue to be PUG-nacious! 🙂

  4. One thing that was suggested to me once, and sort of goes along the lines of talk it out, is to talk to someone trusted about your situation but to give yourself a time limit of complaining. Boss pick on you unnecessarily about a project? Give yourself 10 minutes to vent to a coworker or friend. But after 10 minutes, pull yourself up and move on to something else, or at least move on to finding a solution rather than just venting. At least for me, if I allow myself infinite time for complaints I wind up saying the same thing over and over again and bringing negativity that isn’t productive anyways 🙂

    • Hi Ashley!
      Great advice as far as venting/complaining. If you continue to “whine,” we are apt to sink deeper into a negative state.
      I appreciate your stopping by and reading!

Leave a Reply

