The value of Paper.li

From time to time, you probably have seen your name pop up in a tweet that shows you are mentioned in someone’s “Daily.” Here’s an example if you don’t know what I’m talking about:

These dailies are via the site Paper.li, a content curation service that allows people to publish newspapers based on topics they like and give readers fresh news every day. But, as I read some of them, I began to wonder what value do these “papers” really bring? Are they really read everyday or are people just looking to see if they are mentioned because of a tweet or blog post they authored is up there?

I’d love your thoughts, in favor or not, to Paper.li. Get the discussion started in the comments section.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Hot Topic, Marketing, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I am so glad you brought this up, Jason! I remain mystified as well. When I see that I have been featured in someone’s paper.li, I always tweet them a “thanks” but when I actually look at the “product,” I am not sure I get it. Someone ended up putting me in their “Kansas City” paper.li that was all about Kansas, and I think it’s because I mentioned an ORGANIZATION that is housed in Kansas City, not an experience I had there. I’ll be curious to see what others say – maybe we’ll all learn something. Then we can publish the “Now They Have A Clue” paper.li!

    • Thanks Paula!
      I’m trying to figure out readership numbers and how valuable it really is to someone. I could understand if an organization or small business used it to help the bottom line in some way. I don’t think it is something that fits all however.

  2. i was actually wondering the same thing! i tend to gravitate toward these sort of things because i love to try and keep things i love and news in one place but i can’t see myself doing this every day (seems like a lot of work!) even if it is just cutting and pasting. i am not sure anyone reads it either because i’ve been featured but haven’t gotten much traffic from them (unfortunately!) it’s sort of a cool thought though! so i am no help. LOL what do you think about them? does anyone read them? i scan over them sometimes, but i haven’t spent much time reading them. (Starbucks after this?)

  3. Yes on Starbucks! 🙂

    I believe some of the content is curated from hashtagging as well. There are people I don’t follow that have included me in their “dailies.”
    As of right now, I don’t see myself starting one. It doesn’t fit into what I’m doing or want to do.

  4. Glad someone was brave enough to ask the question! As interesting as the concept seems, I just don’t have time to be the editor of my own online paper. And from what I’ve seen of others, much of the content is repeated from day to day, or is irrelevant to the stated topic of the paper. Part of the problem seems to be that those of us who are already spending our time blogging, tweeting, checking in, etc. are trying to experiment with these papers. And I don’t think we have enough time to do them well.

    • Hi Cindi,

      Thanks for chiming in. There’s only so much content to share and I think, to me, it has to be relevant. Time management is a great point to bring up. If you are going to do something, do it right!

  5. Not a fan of the paper.li product itself. For instance, I rarely ever read them and wouldn’t do one myself. That said, flattery will get you everywhere. And it is still nice to see your name come up in a paper.li tweet whether it has any real relevance to you. So I can see that perspective and wonder if that might be why some folks keep doing paper.li.

    • Justin,

      Good point. Maybe some use it as a way to gain more exposure, therefore gain more Twitter followers/blog readers?
      I agree that it’s nice to see your name pop up in a tweet and I’ve checked to see how I’m mentioned.
      I don’t want to sound like a jerk, but I too, don’t have much time to read them. And isn’t it the point of Paper.li to save time?

  6. Personally, I’m not a big fan of Paper li. In theory, it’s a great idea since it’s supposed to “aggregate” content that you are most likely to find interesting. However in reality, it’s another form of spam. All it really does is curate content around hashtags, which can be useful in moderation EXCEPT there’s a good number of people who auto-tweet their Paper li. everyday. That gets annoying. So, I’m sticking with Google Reader and Twitter lists to aggregate and organize everything.

  1. Pingback: Don’t like new things? Then prepare to be disappointed. « One Guy's Journey

  2. Pingback: Guest Blog: Don’t Shoot It Down Before You’ve Tried It | KimberMedia

Leave a Reply

