Blog Series: Never Settling for Second Best

“I’m a rockstar.” “I can do anything!” “I’m the best there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be.”

“You’ve got a gift Roy… but it’s not enough – you’ve got to develop yourself. If you rely too much on your own gift… then… you’ll fail.”

I use that last quote from “The Natural” because it’s such a great one. Whether you are a PR pro or an athlete, we all have gifts. Some are great at writing, while others have terrific analytic minds. If you rely too heavily on those gifts, you settle. It’s not a good move.

Over my career, I’ve talked to a number of people who have just settled. I was one of those people for a few years. I thought, “Will I ever find a job I’m happy with?”

Drive to succeedI went through a bit of re-discovery about four years ago. I decided that instead of just being content with being good, I wanted to be better. Why didn’t I just settle? Because by settling, you throw away your drive and your passion. Sure, you may work at the Acme Company as an account manager, but do you really love it? If you do, great.

But, once you let the thoughts of, “I would rather just stay here; I don’t need to leave” enter your head, it’s over. Here are three ways to not settle and soar instead.

1. Find something everyday that challenges you- Whether it is a workout or a webinar, be part of something that can get your mental or physical juices flowing. I like reading at least three blogs from people who I know think fresh and outside the box.

2. Don’t let someone else tell you what your career should be- Ok, I know I’m trying to give advice here. I will never, though, tell a person what career they should go into. There’s a difference between guidance/mentoring and telling someone “You are crazy if you don’t take this job.” Take advice, listen and make up YOUR mind.

3. Listen to your heart- Think it sounds cliché? It’s not. If you are driven to succeed in life and career, your heart will help to tell you how you feel. When my heart stopped being into something, I actively starting seeking new challenges and jobs. Once the heart stops feeling driven, your mind will follow. Don’t waste both.

Remember… it’s never too late to have a life and it’s never too late to change one! 

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on January 10, 2013, in Branding, Hot Topic, Inspiration, Public Relations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Christine Mollica

    Good post Jas, I guess Ryan took that advice. I settled in my job many years ago. I thought about our family and could I find a better job with my education. After retiring and knew I had my pension and medical benefits I did go out and find better paying jobs. I knew I could do the work but leaving and sacrificing my benefits was a big reason to stay. When you are young yes, take that next step if it’s right for you and the family. I know that both you and Ryan are doing what is best for your futures and to take care of your families. l Dad

  1. Pingback: Blog Series: Re-invent Yourself Often « One Guy's Journey

Leave a Reply

