Blog Series: Re-invent Yourself Often

In 2008, I came to the realization that public relations was changing. Facebook was just starting to make an impact; Twitter and YouTube were still fairly new. I noticed that more and more forward-thinking PR pros were adapting these social platforms into their thinking. It was going to be the future.

What was I to do though? Should I just forge ahead with the old ways or should I start integrating them into my practices? I chose the latter, thankfully. Those months of changing my ways and learning more about social media led to me re-inventing myself. It also helped me move on to a new agency job a year later. Ultimately, it was also the building block to my business, JRM Comm.

Here is what this should mean to you. While you may feel like you are good, you can always do more and be more. Every single day, you can look at ways at being better and being more than you are already.

re-invent1) Don’t fall into the comfort zone- I mentioned this in part two of my blog series. The more comfortable you get, the more we become lackadaisical. Find ways to learn something different to make yourself unique and resourceful. This will not happen in one day. Over time, your peers and co-workers will see you are the “go-to” person for new, fresh ideas.

2) Challenge your own mind- I worked in television and radio for years. I knew after a while though that it wasn’t going to give me what I ultimately wanted: Control. So, I challenged myself to do something different. Sure, many TV/radio folks transition into PR nowadays, but I still knew it was going to be a different way of life. I dove in head first and immersed myself into learning as much as I could. I wanted the challenge… and so should you.

3) Risk… understand it- By re-inventing yourself, you are taking a risk- calculated or otherwise. Understand that by trying to change-up what you’ve done for years isn’t exactly something you flip the switch on. The risk is that it may not work, but how many times did Steve Jobs try before he became successful. Believe that risk is part of your plan and you’ll have a better grip on your future.

Remember, change is good. But you have to believe it. Don’t think you can be this new, re-invented person overnight. It may take a few months or up to a year to really feel comfortable. BUT, if you believe… it WILL HAPPEN!

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on January 17, 2013, in Inspiration, Personal Branding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

