Awakening in Life and Work

“I don’t need to fight, to prove I’m right. I don’t need to be forgiven.”– Baba O’Riley, The Who

Over the weekend, I turned 40. For some, it’s a reminder that we are getting older. For others, it’s the thought that the greatest years of your life are still ahead. Prior to my birthday, I had a few weeks where I felt really old. I was no longer a “young guy,” but an older man. However, the day my birthday hit, a real change came over me. This wasn’t some magic light or message from above, it was an awakening.

earth-horizon-m_1You may not realize it, but your awakening can happen at any time and any place. It can happen at age 21, 30, 40 or 50. It can take place in your car, with a friend or even in your office.

Say you get let go from your job, like I did in 2010. Is this your awakening? It very well may be. For me, it was the start of a dream. For you, getting let go may be the beginning of the rest of your life or it may be something that hurts you for a bit. There is not a super serum that changes you overnight (even though you may think you are Captain America). Your awakening may take some time to grow.

The same goes for your work. You may have been exposed to some great mentors and work in an environment that has allowed you to grow. Does this mean it is time for you make the leap into starting your own business? It could be. Is this, as Oprah calls it, an Aha! moment? Probably.

The moment your mind and body align, you are having an awakening. I have a good friend in PR that was putting together some social media marketing plans. He read a post about B2B marketing with Facebook at Social Media Examiner. It changed his perspective and was an awakening for him moving forward. He now understood what it took for him to really grasp the connection with social.

Remember… Your awakening may come at any time. You need to grasp it and understand the how it will shape you. Now, and for the future.

Let me know what your awakening in life and work has been in the comments.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That’s a great perspective on turning 40, Jason! Most people are always so miserable near a big birthday. Glad you weren’t and had that oh-so-important moment of clarity. I must keep the idea of an awakening in the back of my mind. It can and will happen, right?! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! See today’s post for all the details!
    -Alex

    http://alexcrispino.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/liebster-award/

  3. Paula Kiger (Big Green Pen)

    Nice post, Jason. I would say one of my “wakeups” was a conversation I had with my 16 year old today, in which it became apparent she’s taking better notes about me than I realized, and making wise observations that surprised me. That’s all I can say for now, but a quote that is rumbling around in my brain comes from hearing Cheryl Strayed, author of “Wild,” speak in February — in essence she said in order to achieve what you want, sometimes you have to break your own heart. I think that’s true!

  1. Pingback: Awakening in Life and Work | Motivation and ins...

  2. Pingback: Awakening in Life and Work | People Discovery

Leave a Reply

