Is Social Media Evolving or is it Stuck in Neutral?

Over the weekend, I was going through some mementos of my younger years. I found one of my old yearbooks, a scrapbook of newspaper clippings from the first space shuttle launch and when the 1986 New York Mets won the World Series. Oddly enough, I also found an AOL start-up disk. If you are like me, you remember they came in the mail with an offer to try it free for 30 days. Ah, dial-up.

That's the QuestionThis find got me thinking. AOL and Prodigy went by the wayside pretty quickly; it sort of evolved, but then ended up dying. Prodigy is a footnote in online history. AOL, as it was then, isn’t the same. Are we in for the same sort of slow shuttering of social media platforms?

Now, this blog isn’t meant to be the “Five Reasons Facebook will Die by 2015” or “Why Twitter can’t stay free” type post. As a matter of fact, I’m trying to go in the opposite direction. Over the coming weeks and months, I’m going to be starting a frank conversation about social media and whether it’s evolving or is stuck. We’ll talk to pros and students about their feelings and findings. You be able to see and hear these things via my YouTube channel and brand new podcast.

But, let’s start the conversation right now. Is social evolving or is it not? Leave your feelings in the comments section.

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on June 20, 2013, in Hot Topic, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

