When You Seem Your Least Creative

Let’s be honest. The creative juices don’t always flow like Niagara Falls. The struggle to find ways to think of new ideas, fresh blog posts and awesome plans for clients is very real. So real that this blog didn’t come to me this easy.

I’ve been struggling lately with developing content for the blog. I came back from Italy with so much energy and a fresh mind; it should have been simple for me to write to my heart’s content. It hasn’t been. Sitting at the computer just attempting to start a blog turned into a painstaking process that should never happen. We aren’t always creative and we need to be honest with ourselves about that.

John DeMarco

Photo courtesy of John DeMarco.

But why does this happen? It’s simple. While we strive to be at the top of our game, the bridge to creativity isn’t always open. There are roadblocks with everything in life, but it’s how we approach those obstacles that go a long way to moving us forward. Are you going to just smash through that roadblock or will you find a way around to get you where you need to go?

I’d never blog about something unless I believed it to be helpful, so here are three things that can help your creativity.

Just write– What about? Your favorite song and how it makes you feel, a really bad movie, or a great meal you had. Oddly enough, those things can help your brain start firing and get things going in the right direction.

Watch an awesome movie– Every time I watch Iron Man 2, (the scene where his wracking his brain to find a solution for the failing Arc Reactor, then his Dad jogs his memory on film) my mind start moving. Maybe it’s because I’m a super hero geek, but those movies start getting me amped. I get Starkified (is that a word?).

Talk it out- Sit down with someone you trust- a husband/wife, partner, etc.- and just talk. It could be about why you can’t think of things to write. In most cases, that other person will say something to get you started on Creativity Drive. Look at all the Instagram pictures we see with our friends in them. You’re going to tell me they can’t get your creative mind going?

The best of the best have their days when they aren’t creative. It’s how you re-fuel yourself that will go far in getting your creativity back. You can shoot for the moon all you want. But if you don’t have the rocket to get there, it’s all just a pipe dream.

How do you get your creativity back? Let me know in the comments!

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How does Aleisha revamp her creativity? Well I listen to music. I am not a picky person when it comes to music, and because I listen to all sorts of genre’s, I believe this helps my creativity wheels. I just recently started my own blog, and let me tell you, it was a rough start, because I had so many problems figuring out what I should write about. Thanks for posting about this topic. This will help me and many others who suffer.

  1. Pingback: Start Your Week Right Sunday: Links and Goals - Jessica Lawlor

  2. Pingback: Be Inspired | One Guy's Journey

Leave a Reply

