Who is your PR Inspiration?

The key is to keep company only with people who uplift you, whose presence calls forth your bestEpictetus

We (hopefully) get inspired by many things in life. A big promotion, getting your degree, or even starting your own business. However, in many cases, it is the people in our lives who inspire us to be more and do more. Over the last few weeks, I’ve had an opportunity to think about those who have inspired me to be more as a public relations professional.

2013-06-27 17.20.57Folks like Larry Litwin, Deirdre Breakenridge, Shonali Burke, and, of course, my wife, have had an indelible impact into my PR career. Every day, I am inspired by something they have done. It is why I love what I do and why I enjoy working with future and current pros to make our industry great.

Now, I ask you. Who is your PR inspiration? Why do we need to let our networks know they are great? What have they done to inspire our industry?

Let me know on Twitter, Facebook and in the comments below. I’ll then shout them out on Twitter. Be inspired by what you have learned and pay it forward!

About JasMollica

"It's never too late to have a life and it's never too late to change one." That's something I tell students, friends, and family all the time. After living and working in New York City, I took my own advice in 2004, switched my career from the television/radio industry and got into public relations. Now, I spend my days as a PR/social media marketing consultant and get inspired daily. It's been a good ride, so far. But the car has plenty of gas left. I hope you'll join along in this guy's journey!

Posted on March 10, 2015, in Hot Topic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think one of my favorite aspects of this industry is that it’s such a nurturing one! My list is… kind of long – but you asked! So here it goes.

    You – (I’m assuming you know your Twitter handle) You continue to encourage and nurture young professionals. AND you are just so darn nice. Our industry could use more people like you, and I’m thankful to know you.

    Jim Coll (@jimcoll) – This guy. Man. All the class that comes with a bow tie and the wisdom of a seasoned professional. His goal to impart good on the world and expand the industry of public relations – for the betterment of people – is incredibly inspiring!

    Kristie Aylett (@kristk) – If I am an eighth of the professional she is, I will assert that my career is successful. Full of knowledge, great ideas and my go-to for all the things. What started out as a mentorship has transformed itself into a full-fledged friendship – and I just… honestly, have no words to state how important this lady has been in my life! Cheerleader and master of all trades. I would absolutely not be where I am today, without her encouragement and support along the way.

    Gini Dietrich (@ginidietrich) – I started out as a fan – and am thankful we are now friends! She’s revolutionizing how people think about PR, measurement and the world of data that drives SMART objectives. And, she doesn’t mind giving advice when asked… Oh! And she’s just funny. Which I appreciate, the most. I look forward to seeing how she continues to spread the Spin Sucks message, and more than that – I look forward t

    April Lollar (@aslollar) – She might not know it… but my drive to write better stems from how much passion and wit she uses in her own writing. She inspires me in so many different ways – and that stems from a six year friendship that I adore.

    And more, because they deserve recognition for being awesome and inspiring me to be better every day? Thomas Broadus (@tbroonline), Jessica Lawlor (@jesslaw), Brittney Westbrook (@chroma3395), Catherine Lott (@catherinecarol) – I’m sure I left people off…

  2. Great post, Jason. When I think of people and things that have helped inspire my career so far, for me it is less about the exact career the people were in, and more about their influence on ways of thinking about communication and understanding what makes different types of people tick, what their inner needs are, and how best to serve those needs or provide benefit. So gratitude is to Jan Peters, my first boss I ever had—who led a large human service agency I worked for; to the patients and families served by Roswell Park Cancer Institute, who I had the privilege to “work for”–befriend, listen to and share with for over 9 years; and most recently to Seth Godin, for his daily blogs—each a lesson in communication, business and how to think about life, and inspire others to think about life and communication.

    • Hi John!
      Those are some terrific people to get inspiration from. I like how they inspired you on ways of “thinking about communication and understanding what makes people tick.” Getting to know the person is great and something more of us should do.

  3. Paula Kiger (Big Green Pen)

    I saw this earlier today and didn’t feel like I could compose a list on the fly. But now it’s bedtime so I need to put up or shut up! As you know, it’s not my industry but I have grown kind of fond of it. People who have made me feel included and answered my (very basic) questions, people who just generally rock for a variety of reasons, include: @ginidietrich, and @shonali (and I have you to thank for putting me in touch with them!). She’s not a PR person specifically, but my boss @beckyrbnsn has had a lot to do with helping me find a place that works in the communications arena. Lastly, a PR pro who I think has HUGE potential is @christinaPRinDC she kind of rocks!

  4. Jason, I’m so touched. Thank you for that honor. I’m inspired by so many; Deirdre, of course (!), and so many more… and quite honestly, folks like you, Paula, Matt LaCasse (@mattlacasse), Betsy Decillis (@decillis) … so many of you whom I first came to know (properly) through the Blue Key Campaign, where you really showed everyone what it means to be a true community.

  5. Well, this was fun to see so early in the morning! Thank you Sam and Paula (and Jason for asking the question)!

Leave a Reply

