Inspiration, Job Search

Getting Canned or Why I’m Glad I Got Let Go From My Job

Two years ago on Sept. 4, I started the day by putting my daughter on the bus for kindergarten, not knowing that I would be embarking on my own new journey a few hours later. See, I was canned by my firm. While I wasn’t exactly thrilled with being let go from a job for the first time in my life, it was the best damn thing that ever happened to me.

(courtesy: John DeMarco
(courtesy: John DeMarco)

Looking back on that day, I should have seen it coming. I was going in one direction, the firm in another. Did I want to get let go? No way. But I’m glad I did. Does this mean you should look forward to getting fired? Absolutely not. But, for me, this was the realization that my dream of running my own business was about to come into focus. So, yes, I’m glad I got let go.

I’ve learned much in two years; things I would not have learned otherwise. What have I learned in a relatively short time span? Let me tell you:

  • There’s no overnight success- Unless you have a Rolodex full of big spenders, you are going to have to hustle, sweat, and pound the pavement. Matthew Cerrone of Metsblog is a perfect example of this. He started Metsblog and turned it into a incredible success story. But, it wasn’t something that he took for granted. And he still hustles like an all-star every single day.
  • Have a plan- This should be very obvious, because without a plan, you are a ship without a rudder. Every successful business, no matter how big or small, has a plan. The day I got let go, I sat down that night and put the small plan I already had and expanded it. Think about what you need and how you want to go about growing your business.
  • There will be failures- Why sugar coat it? The first few months of my business were a huge gut check. I needed to collect unemployment for the first time and the money wasn’t coming in. I learned more about myself and where I wanted to be during this time. You want to be a success? You need to understand failure.
  • Never stop learning- Every single day, I read or hear something new. In a recent post for PRSA’s new professionals, I was asked about ways to gain more experience. I wrote, “Gaining knowledge is up to you. Don’t rest on what is in front of you; look beyond the now, and see the future. YOUR future.” The only way you’ll continue to grow, is to always act like a student (as my friend Stephanie Florence likes to say.)
  • Go with confidence- There will be moments when you feel your lowest. Sure, being canned is a very tough pill to swallow. How can you overcome it? Believe in yourself, your skills, and your experience. This doesn’t mean be cocky. It means to take that first step towards future success, you need to believe that you can do it. This means no rope, no parachute. You rely on your skills and knowledge to make it work.

As I mentioned, being canned isn’t the most optimal way to start out. But, whether you step out into a new beginning on your own volition or not, believe the best is yet to come.

7 thoughts on “Getting Canned or Why I’m Glad I Got Let Go From My Job”

  1. Great blog! I remember being so upset when you called that morning, but you didn’t miss a step and now look how happy you are in your career!! 🙂

Leave a comment